Author Blog Hop- My Newest Book

14 11 2012

Many thanks to my friend Siggy Buckley for inviting me to participate in the Blog Hop where authors answer questions about their new books. Check out her latest book when you get the chance.

For those of you who aren’t aware, I am a pretty new writer.  This year I released two novels, Fatal Compulsions (July, 2012) and Daughter of My Heart: Cela’s Letters Home (September 2012).  As an author, it has been a red-letter year for me.  What a way to burst on to the scene!  Little did I know, however, that after Fatal Compulsions was released, that there would be a clamor for a sequel. So, I began my third novel, Shattered Gemini (working title) which I hope to released sometime in 2013.  Thank heavens for an amazing publisher who is already excited for this sequel.  It drives me even more to complete the manuscript.

As part of this wonderful Blog Hop I have been invited to be part of, I get to introduce Shattered Gemini to those who are familiar with Fatal Compulsions and to new readers who aren’t.  So let’s get started, shall we?

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:

SHATTERED GEMINI

     What is the working title of your book?

The working title for my next book, a sequel to Fatal Compulsions is SHATTERED GEMINI. I don’t want  to give too much away with the title, but since I write with a definite psychological bend, the name is a play on words that hopefully, will excite my readers.

     Where did the idea come from for the book?

As this is a sequel, the idea was already in place long before I published Fatal Compulsions. SHATTERED GEMINI is the continuation of Audrey Sampson and Everett Allen’s story. After all, you can’t expect two sleuths to just sit back on their laurels. Besides, I was already getting demands from my beta readers to continue with Audrey and Rett’s love story.  Hopefully SHATTERED GEMINI will appease my readers who are so heavily invested emotionally in this couple.

     What genre does your book fall under?

This particular book is a psychological murder mystery.  It is one of my two preferred genres.  The other genre I enjoy writing is fictional memoir.

     Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

If given the opportunity to see SHATTERED GEMINI on screen, I’d want to see Emma Watson portray Audrey Sampson. Ms. Watson has just the right touch of innocence coupled with determination and drive to portray the young, unjaded Audrey. Greg Vaughn portraying Everett Allen would definitely show the bad boy exterior, good guy at heart aspects of Rett, Audrey’s love interest. Mr. Vaughn could pull off both character strengths with ease. As for Gemini, well, that would have to be just as unknown as who or what Gemini is.

     What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Audrey Sampson and Everett Allen team up to stop a serial kidnapper/murderer, one who is preying on identical twins, who seems determined to keep the pair apart… permanently.

     Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Hunt Press, Inc. published Fatal Compulsions as well as my second book, Daughter of My Heart: Cela’s Letters Home.  I see no reason why SHATTERED GEMINI shouldn’t be published by them as well. I have certainly been pleased with the quality of work they help me put out.

      How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Good question.  SHATTERED GEMINI is still a work in progress.  Hopefully, I should be ready to submit it to my editor by January 2013 ( I seriously, hope she doesn’t hold me to this deadline).  That would slate it for release sometime in early Fall 2013.

     What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

     SHATTERED GEMINI is written along the same style as many of Dan Brown’s works.  I really admire him as a researcher and as an author and enjoy the way he lays out a story chronologically. You might also recognize a bit of Clive Cussler-esque style in my writing.

     Who or What inspired you to write this book?

That is an easy question if asked about my first two books.  I would have to say that Fatal Compulsions and its two main characters Audrey and Rett inspired the sequel.  When you give birth to such great characters, it is hard to contain them within just one story.  Some characters need several stories to live through in order to fulfill their life’s purpose.

     What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I am a dark writer; meaning I am graphic without being gross and I try to build a visual picture in my reader’s mind without chasing them from it with blood, gore, or gratuitous violence or sex.  I don’t think any of that is necessary to tell a great story. I will however, not pull punches if it is called for.  After all, a murder scene can’t be neat and tidy and covered in pink ribbons and daisies.  It would defeat the purpose and leave the reader wondering what exactly is happening. My murders have clues left for the reader, but they have to watched for.  I never leave anything blatantly out in the open.  I am definitely a storyteller who delights in stringing the reader along to the very end then showing them how I’ve thrown all their preconceptions and theories out the window. Critics have called my writing, “the ultimate experience in who-dun-it story telling”.  Want to play Clue or Sherlock Holmes?  SHATTERED GEMINI will give you a similar run for your money.

Where might we find your other books?

Fatal Compulsions is available at Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble.com, and Lulu.com. You can find the Kindle version at Amazon and soon, B&N should have the Nook version.

Daughter of My Heart: Cela’s Letters Home is available at Lulu.com and should be available at Amazon.com in time for Christmas 2012.

Thank you again, Siggy! Can’t wait to read your newest book.

And now to Deep In My Psyche!

Watch next week for five new authors joining the Blog Hop.  Diane Adams Taylor, Sharon Jacobson, Harry Dodson, Colleen Sayre, Elaine Benton, and Greg Randall.

You won’t want to miss reading about these wonderful authors upcoming projects. They will be joining the Blog Hop next Wednesday, November 21st, so be sure to check them out then.  You’ll also find their blog links under AUTHORS I FOLLOW.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

marykoster

Independent Consultant, Rodan and Fields Dermatologists

Relating To You

A site for learning about and sharing what you know about relationships we all deal with.

Darlene Craviotto

Can you all hear me in the back?

SpiritualChocolate

Living inside a Delicious Relationship with the Divine

